it’s morning

June 27, 2009 at 8:52 pm Leave a comment

My back arched precariously

muscles taught

I sit legs outstretched

under my duvet cover

it’s morning

Thursday morning

i repeat this like a mantra

try to empty my head

of the foggy somnia

that envelopes it

my stomach growls

like a hungry beast

waiting

for the hunt for almond milk

cereal flakes

or if it’s lucky

an omelette

did you know that the proper way to type

is with your hands floating above the keyboard

the balls not touching

I’m not very proper

There is no knowing

what i feel

but that i feel is undeniable

attested to by the oiliness of my skin

the product of an anxiety

caused by my very existence

on this earth

I put aside my insecurities

forget to remember to feel

tense when I walk into work

today is a day

i will seek out my own joy

i will not drift into waves

too deep for me

Entry filed under: Poetry.

mouth i have no use for poets

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

June 2009
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

