my first Celebration of Light

July 23, 2009 at 7:46 am 11 comments

Celebration of Light 2009

Tonight was Team Canada’s turn; I couldn’t miss that.

I pushed my way onto the Skytrain at the Broadway station. The police roamed the platform; stopped a young man with a metal water bottle, sniffed it, and emptied the contents over the Skytrain tracks. There would be no booze consumed in public tonight. I was relieved I hadn’t thought to bring my “water” bottle.

The weather was perfect. The sky was blue and cloudless; the crowd amazing, covering English Bay like some patchwork quilt. I arrived a half an hour before the show was to start, but already there was barely a bare spot left on the grass. I walked up Beach Drive and found myself a fairly good seat right next to the sidewalk. I figured I’d be able to retreat with relative ease once the last of the fireworks had gone off.

The audience was young and old. Next to me sat a mother and her two small children, the girl holding up her digital camera, armed and ready. To my right sat a young woman sipping Coke from a can, the straw perched between her glossy lips. And behind me sat a frail man from a nearby retirement home, in his scooter, poised at the side of the road.

There were a few false starts. Well, not false exactly – maybe just a few trial shots. Then 10 o’clock arrived (the organizers were remarkably on time). The deejay’s voice bellowed across English Bay, asking us to stand up for the national anthem. “Oh Canada” subsided. The moment had arrived. The sky filled with the thump thump thump of colourful shooting stars. At first it was hard to make out the music, but then “We’re off to see the wizard” started and not even the loudest of bangs could conceal its familiar tune.

The finale was suitably grandiose (boom, boom, BOOM), and in the background “Somewhere over the rainbow” played — which is, like, one of my favourite songs. At the end of it the sky was grey with smoke and the air hung thick with what smelled like pipe tobacco. Mmmm.

Afterward I clambered to my feet and followed the crowd. Somehow I ended up on Denman Street and then walked somewhat circuitously to the Waterfront station. My theory was that by the time I got to the station, the initial throng would’ve dissipated. That and I (ahem) got a little lost. Anyway, I made it to the station only to discover a very looong line-up outside. My heart sank. I fell in line. Surprisingly though it moved quickly and even better was that the train wasn’t all that packed. Even as we passed Burrard and Granville stations, it didn’t get full. Police were everywhere. As were the Skytrain attendants. They’d obviously planned this well. They’d had experience.

That was it, my first Celebration of Light. Next up, South Africa on Saturday.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Underwhelmingly Bruno A walk down memory lane

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shayne  |  February 24, 2013 at 2:03 am

    Actually when someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other viewers that they will assist, so here it happens.

    Reply
  • 2. swim backpacks  |  August 5, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    A person essentially assist to make critically posts I might state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I amazed with the research you made to create this particular submit incredible.
    Fantastic job!

    Reply
  • 3. dog house for great dane  |  December 14, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    Hello everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and paragraph is really
    fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these
    types of articles.

    Reply
  • 4. the Best indoor dog  |  December 15, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    I do consider all of the ideas you have offered in your post.

    They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too brief for beginners.
    Could you please prolong them a little from subsequent time?

    Thank you for the post.

    Reply
  • 5. dog house plans free  |  December 16, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your website provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

    Reply
  • 6. nano mist spray review  |  December 19, 2013 at 5:26 am

    I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this web site.
    Studying this info So i’m glad to exhibit that I have a very just right uncanny feeling
    I found out exactly what I needed. I so much for sure will make certain to do not fail to remember this website and give it
    a glance regularly.

    Reply
  • 7. harga nano spray dan magic stik  |  December 26, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re
    using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet
    browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good internet hosting
    provider at a honest price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 8. rocker recliner  |  December 30, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble
    finding one? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  • 9. large pet bed  |  December 30, 2013 at 5:22 am

    Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am
    a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange methods with others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

    Reply
  • 10. Jamie Magrone  |  February 28, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is
    popping it up all over the internet without
    my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being
    stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

    Reply
  • 11. bursa taruhan sepak bola online  |  May 6, 2014 at 6:07 pm

    I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to our
    blogroll.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

