riff

November 18, 2009 at 4:31 am Leave a comment

What I did today
is none of your business
is everyone’s business who cares
to sell me something
apparently

What I do today is
none of anyone’s business
but I’ll tell you anyway because
that’s what people do
they tell each other what they think
feel dream do hope regret forget
embellish the truth or plain lie
it’s what we’re programmed for
trust me

so what I did today
is what you want to know
is what you think you’re entitled to
is what I’m gonna tell you as soon as I
find the words

I don’t have the words
sorry
It’s complicated knowing
where to insert the “a” the “the”
the “yes” the “no”
the “now” the “never”
the “forget about it”

just
put it out of your mind
will you?
Or tell me what you did
it’s what you want to do anyway
isn’t it?
You don’t really care what I think
feel want

Not unless I pay
$150 a session

Today’s almost over
and I still haven’t said a word
not really
just brayed terms
empty and plastic and bent
out of shape

Entry filed under: Poetry.

panic attack What does God look like?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

