Career advice

March 27, 2010 at 9:43 pm Leave a comment

I’ll admit I have moments
when the rage just breaks my skin, oozes
out of me, misdirected. This
is not one of them.

I sit in Starbucks sipping
my decaf latte, two laptops by my side
and that angry bull inside, kicking
at the dirt, rearing to pulverize

An epiphany–
I’m no man, just an imposter
feeling himself pushed off the rim
of this flat, flat earth
useless like trash, unfit even
for recycling

But feelings can change:
I am the master of my attitude
the captain of my solo
and I swallow down the smooth lactic treat
that my lactose-intolerant self will later regret, I’m sure
but in this moment, now
it is an oasis in the unruly hurricane of my day

It is acceptance.

Entry filed under: Poetry.

Sharpeville Massacre – the beginning of the end Why Burton’s Alice in Wonderland is flawed entertainment

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

