the rules are simple

March 31, 2010 at 2:55 am Leave a comment

I’ve started a little game. After work, I like to go to a coffee shop, grab a hot beverage, sit down and thumb-type a poem on my IPod Touch for an hour or so. Because my day-job is noisy, demanding and exhausting, my poems tend toward the absurd – because that’s where the rational mind goes when it doesn’t want to think anymore. I like to focus on a familiar object and then riff off of it. Sometimes these poems make sense, sometimes they don’t. But they are always interesting – to me at least. Here’s one about a tasty cup of Indian Chai:

Indian Chai

On top of you
sprinkled cinnamon
and foam
and in my ears two rose-buds

they don’t bleed these ears
nor do they listen
they are too busy floating
on my tongue so sweet
it needs no sugar

my footsteps echo up
your fingers
like a hug or crushed
ice – you pick
I no longer imagine the sun setting
I see only the moon and its reflection
peeking

But let us continue together
you and I
our paths dusted and waiting
they reach for our hands
and bless us with wild precision

they lose themselves
and us along with them
they are dense and convulsing
and sick with meaning

Entry filed under: Poetry. Tags: .

the art of apology orphan child

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

