one word

July 25, 2010 at 7:21 pm Leave a comment

It doesn’t disappear just because I ask it to.
It’s too good for that —
too strong.
Prometheus would understand:
his liver hanging half-eaten
from his side each night.

It doesn’t just go away
that would be too easy too
much like giving in,
letting me win,
and we can’t have that
not a winner like me

Suddenly the room feels
cold, can you feel it?

I will bear witness to it
I will yell it to the ever-encroaching
walls. I will, hoarse as I am,
announce myself, my presence,
my, well, pain.
There it is
The word I’ve been avoiding all along.
And it’s been long:
years, decades, quarter centuries.
When will it end?
When will it be enough?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

born free Waiting for Godot II

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

