It’s the little things in life

September 28, 2010 at 5:33 am Leave a comment

Over the weekend I did what I should have done months ago. I bought myself two pairs of shoes, one for work and one for my casual outings. I didn’t go for the cheapest I could find either, because I figured I walk enough to warrant a decent pair or two. I’m very particular about my shoes: my high arches mean that oftentimes loafers or other slip-on type shoes rub uncomfortably against the top of my foot. I also happen to live in a rainy city; leaky shoes won’t do. It’s amazing how a simple thing like a snug-fitting, moisture-resistant shoe can do wonders for reviving one’s pleasure in walking. And I do enjoy walking.

My shoe experience reminded me that often we have more control over our happiness than we think. Sometimes, when I’m feeling blue, my mind whirrs into action and dreams up superhero-like scenarios to extract me from my funk. At those moments I’m susceptible to think that I need to find a new house, or move to a different city, or find a new job, or go bungee-jumping or…

It doesn’t take a giant leap to access pleasure. All it takes is enough patience to enjoy life. And life isn’t just made up of grand, earth-shattering events. It’s the little things: the process of cooking dinner, or a good night’s sleep, or a bouquet of flowers on the kitchen table. A good conversation or a soothing song can be the difference between stressing out and blissing out. Speaking of which, I think it’s about time I unwound for the day. Time to kick off my snug shoes and settle into a nice warm shower.

Aaaah, life is good.

Entry filed under: Mental Health, Uncategorized. Tags: .

The gender delusion theory On Facebook privacy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

Recent Posts

Posts

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

